Sun-dried Tomato Turkey Meatballs

It’s HUMP day! (Do other people still hear the Mike? Mike? Mike? from the camel commercial when they hear the phrase “hump day”? Or is that just me?)

Since I last posted (which I will admit has been quite some time) we have been busy, busy bees! We got our basement issue resolved (thank goodness), went to a good friend’s wedding & another good friend’s baby shower, I traveled to Chicago for a week to attend a conference, we took a 4 day trip (pup in tow) to Colorado for the 4th, Ross went to Chicago for a bachelor party & I had a mother/daughter weekend with (you guessed it!) my mom! Now that you are caught up on all of that (because I know you have been wondering), I feel like we can move on.

With this being my first full week back at work – I took the opportunity to get meal planning back on track. I shared this week’s meal plan on Instagram, but for those of you who don’t follow me on there (very casual plea to follow me at @good.chives) I’ll share what’s on the dinner docket this week:

  • Sunday – roasted tilapia with carrots & pesto
  • Monday – paleo chicken parm bake
  • Tuesday – taco bowls
  • Wednesday – leftovers
  • Thursday – happy hour/going away party for a friend
  • Friday – grilled chicken & veggies

As I mentioned, it’s Wednesday – so let’s see what we’ve actually had for dinner so far:

  • Sunday – coconut oil popcorn
  • Monday – leftovers from the weekend
  • Tuesday – dinner out with inlaws

Do you see where I am going with this? Even the best laid plans need flexibility. I have realized that meal planning (at least right now) has two main functions for me 1) keeps me on track at the grocery store. This is a big one because I get really into wanting to try new things and then not having any idea what to do with them. Example: I bought a leek (ONE leek) this week. What? Why? I don’t know. I even had a meal plan and I did that, I don’t even WANT to know what would have happened if I didn’t write out the menu. 2) it allows me to NOT have to be creative every night. If I have the hankering to make something different or unique and I have the ingredients (and time) to do so – awesome! Meal plan change accepted! But what if I don’t? Then we revert to the ever promising meal plan on the side of the fridge and don’t even have to give the dreaded “what should we make for dinner question” a thought. Anyway, my point here (yes, there is a point!) is that the goal should be find a system that works for you! Go, be you! Embrace it!

And now, Meatball Time. So as I mentioned, my mom and I had a mother/daughter weekend in Iowa City. It really was a great weekend that was long overdue! My mom got into town Friday night and I hadn’t started dinner yet (whoops, told her it would be ready when she got there…huge fib) BUT I knew I wanted to try making Sun-dried Tomato Meatballs for her so that I could perfect the recipe to share with YOU (and because she loves sun-dried tomatoes!) We ate these babies over butternut squash noodles with pesto; however, you could serve over spaghetti squash, noodles, sweet potato noodles, cauliflower rice/mash, salad or just with some roasted veggies for lunch! They are the perfect thing to make a big batch of and freeze for emergency protein.

Sun-dried Tomato Meatballs

IMG_4755

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 white or yellow onion, shredded
  • 10 sun-dried tomatoes (in oil), diced
  • 1/2 t dried oregano
  • 1 t dried rosemary
  • 1 t dried basil
  • 1 t dried parsley
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 t minced garlic
  • Pinch of pepper
  • 1 t hot sauce

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees – line a baking tray with a silicone mat or parchment paper
  2. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl, combine completely (be careful not to OVER work the meat though, as this will cause the meatballs to be dry)
  3. Use an ice cream scoop or a spoon to form the meatballs, place directly on the silicone mat or parchment paper lined tray
  4. Place into the oven and cook for 15 minutes
  5. Serve! (These meatballs can be frozen by allowing to cool, storing in a ziplock bag or an airtight container in the freezer.)

P.S. This isn’t really a recipe, but here is how I made the butternut squash noodles:

  1. Pierce squash and microwave for 5 minutes (this softens the squash for easier peeling)
  2. Peel the squash, slice off bottom and remove the seeds. Spiralize the elongated end.
  3. Heat oil of choice (mine is avocado oil) in a pan on medium-high heat, add the butternut squash noodles and sauté until tender
  4. Add the sauce you want to use – here I used Whole 30 Pesto

Sending Good Chives Your Way,
Shauna

Leave a Reply

