Paleo Red Potato Salad

Before we get into the good stuff (a.k.a. this delicious potato salad) I wanted to address something on here. While I try hard every day to make good decisions for my health and overall well being, that doesn’t always happen. I will be the first to admit that I over indulge time to time and that my workout regimen needs attention. But that is why I am constantly working to find that balance & for me, and I hope you too, Good Chives is helping me find that. My goal is to enjoy my life & feel good living it each and every day. And the fact of the matter is that when I focus daily on eating clean, drinking enough water, getting a workout in and giving myself some relaxation time – I feel like I am running on all cylinders and it’s great. BUT don’t for a second think that I am ever trying to hide the fact that I don’t have this system down pat yet.

So with that being said, I wanted to share a couple of goals I am setting for myself the rest of the summer. These goals are not food related, but my focus for my diet is to continue to eat clean day-to-day and allow myself freedom to eat what I want when out. (I am the kind of person who does best when I share these goals, as it makes me more accountable – do what works for you!) Do you have any goals you are working on this summer? I would love to hear about them and help support them!

  1. Drink (at least) 80 oz of water per day
  2. Workout (at least) 3x week
  3. Run a 5k (small goals here, people)
  4. Spend 30 minutes each day doing something for myself

That’s it! Nothing crazy or unattainable, but it all takes dedication and effort. Here’s to making it work!

Now let’s talk summer BBQs, because if you don’t like summer BBQs I am not sure if our relationship can continue. (I KID!) But seriously, whether it’s family, friends or neighbors – BBQs are a pretty common way for people to get together in the summer time and I am a HUGE FAN. But what can be difficult is letting your week of clean eating fall by the wayside because your bestie brought her famous cream cheese stuffed jalapeño poppers or your aunt made (once again) her double chocolate brownies. The solution? Bring your own goods – ideally things that those who aren’t Paleo or “clean eaters” can enjoy without even noticing the difference! That’s where this Instant Pot Paleo Red Potato Salad comes in! With the tender potatoes, hard boiled eggs, crunchy yellow peppers and topped with bacon – this will FOR SURE be a crowd pleaser.

Instant Pot Paleo Red Potato Salad

FullSizeRender.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 6 red potatoes, cubed
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 yellow pepper
  • 1/2 bunch green onion
  • 1/2 cup paleo mayo
  • 3 T horseradish mustard (could substitute dijon)
  • 3 slices of bacon (check your labels for sugar if you are Paleo or Whole 30), chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Place steamer insert into Instant Pot, fill with 1/2 cup of water. Wash and cube your red potatoes. Place the cubed red potatoes on the steamer basket (a few of mine fell into the water, they were fine!) and place the 4 eggs on top. Cover your Instant Pot, set the steam valve to SEALED and turn it to MANUAL for 5 minutes. (If you don’t have an Instant Pot, don’t fret! You can easily just boil your potatoes and eggs, then start at step 2!)
  2. While your potatoes and eggs are cooking, cook your chopped bacon on the stove top. My favorite is a cast iron skillet, but any pan will do. Put the chopped bacon into a COLD skillet and turn the heat to medium high, stir regularly until bacon is crisp. Transfer to a plate lined with a paper towel.
  3. Chop your yellow pepper and green onions, set aside.
  4. When the Instant Pot has completed the 5 minutes, manually release the steam by switching the steam valve from SEALED to VENT.
  5. Open the Instant Pot lid and transfer eggs to an ice bath and potatoes to a bowl (I put the potatoes in the fridge for a bit as well).
  6. When the eggs have slightly cooled, peel and chop them.
  7. Add all ingredients to a large bowl – add the paleo mayo, mustard and salt/pepper. Stir well to combine.
  8. Top with bacon crumbles and ENJOY!

The great thing about this dish is it can be made ahead and leftovers are great too! Need some other ideas on things to bring to a BBQ? A few of my favorites are: fruit salad, guacamole with veggies, coleslaw and lots of burger toppings like caramelized onions & mushrooms, sautéed peppers, pico de gallo and avocado.

Sending Good Chives Your Way,

Shauna

Leave a Reply

