Turkey Lettuce Wraps

Does time ever feel like it’s just whirling past you? As though you can barely take a breath, let alone a step back to enjoy it? Well I can’t speak for you – but that is how I have been feeling lately! It’s not a bad thing, necessarily, but it just makes me want to start enjoying every moment a little more. So as we start off May and a VERY busy summer – that is what I am going to set out to do. Less focus on the bad/annoying things, more focus on the good/positive things! Easy. 🙂

I will start by sharing something good, dare I say GREAT with you! And that’s this recipe for my Turkey Lettuce Wraps. Now, I definitely did not invent the lettuce wrap…but I did eat a LOT of them at P.F. Chang’s in high school and college so I do consider myself a connoisseur of sorts. Lettuce wraps are a great source of protein, they are easy to make and the flavors can be adjusted based on what ingredients you have available. The recipe I am sharing today is my “go-to” recipe. I should also note, this is a great recipe for meal prep – I ate ours for 4 days last week. #ILOVELEFTOVERS

Turkey Lettuce Wraps

fullsizeoutput_2803

Ingredients:

  • 1 T coconut oil
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • 1 orange pepper, diced (could use any color)
  • 1 can of diced water chestnuts
  • 1.5 lb of ground turkey (or ground chicken)
  • 2 T coconut aminos
  • 1 T chili garlic sauce
  • 1/2 T garlic powder
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/4 t black pepper
  • 7 green onions, chopped
  • 2 shakes of basil

Directions:

  1. Heat a large pan over with coconut oil over medium heat
  2. Once the pan is hot, add the onion & pepper – cook until onions are translucent and peppers are soft (8-10 minutes)
  3. Add the diced water chestnuts – continue to sauté the veggies for another 3-5 minutes
  4. Add the turkey and cook until browned – then mix in the coconut aminos, chili garlic sauce, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Make sure everything is mixed well, turn heat down a little and let cook for another 2-3 minutes.
  5. Right before serving, add the chopped green onions and basil – one more stir, then you’re ready to eat!

I served the filling with butter lettuce leaves, which I swear were made for this exact purpose. But you could make a salad, or eat it over cauliflower rice. Heck, I think even stuffed in a sweet potato would be good. (Because wasn’t isn’t good in a sweet potato?!)

Variations to the recipe could be: adding a can of diced tomatoes/green chilis & using taco seasoning, letting the turkey cool & adding tomatoes/cucumbers and using a greek style sauce, mixing in diced tomatoes and using Italian seasoning. Really the options are endless – let your creativity flow!

This recipe is another great example that you food does not need to be complicated. It just needs to TASTE GOOD. (And of course, be nutritious!)

Sending Good Chives Your Way,

Shauna

Leave a Reply

