Mini Meal Prep

Another weekend has come and gone! The weather here in Iowa was just miserable, making it much harder for me to want to leave the house and be productive. But after slowly moving my body closer to the front door (read: moved from the couch to the breakfast bar, from the breakfast bar to the kitchen table, from the kitchen table to the stairs and FINALLY out the door) I was able to get grocery shopping & a mini food prep done.

Here’s what I made:

PaleOMG’s Southwestern Breakfast Hash w/ Avocado & Tomato Salad

  • For the Avocado & Tomato Salad (this made enough for 4 servings) – Dice 2 avocados  and 1/2 pint of cherry tomatoes, mix in a medium sized bowl. Add the juice of 1 lime (this is for flavor and to keep the avocado from browning). Then add 1 t salt, 1 t garlic powder and 1 T of fresh cilantro (fine to omit if you don’t have this!)

IMG_3768

Spaghetti Squash Casserole (this is a play off of PaleOMG’s Spaghetti Squash Pie)

  • I usually make some sort of spaghetti squash casserole at least once a week. I do this because it’s easy to throw together & you can change up the ingrdients based on what you have available. This week I used leftover veggie bolognese sauce I had in the freezer, mixed with 1 spaghetti squash, 2 whisked eggs & 2 T cholula hot sauce. Baked in a greased 9×13 pan at 400 degrees for 50 minutes.

IMG_7721

Whole 30 Turkey Chili

  • I have been making chili for a LONG time, way before I even heard of Paleo. My chili looks a little different now because instead of beans I add ALL THE VEGGIES. But today I kept it rather simple and sautéed 1 onion, 1 yellow pepper, 1 orange pepper and 3 carrots in avocado oil. Once softened I added a package of ground turkey (about 1.25 lb) and cooked until browned. Then I added 3 T of chili powder, 1 T of cumin, 1 T of garlic power, 1 T of oregano and 1 T of chipotle powder. Next up, TOMATOES – 1 large can of petite diced tomatoes, 1 regular can of fire roasted tomatoes (READ YOUR LABELS if Whole 30), and 1.5 T of tomato paste. Let simmer for 10-15 minutes, if you can wait that long. 🙂

IMG_3817

I had plans to do another big, elaborate meal prep and it just didn’t happen. But you know what? That’s okay because even if I didn’t get everything done that I hoped, I know I at least have meals prepared for the next few days. Tonight I am going to try my hand at a crispy skin salmon recipe – can’t wait to share it with you all!

Sending Good Chives Your Way,

Shauna

Leave a Reply

