Whole 30 Kitchen Prep – Part 2 of 3

Alright people, it’s getting closer! 4 days & counting…I am more excited for this round of Whole 30 than I have been for out last few. I’m not exactly sure why, but whatever the reason is I’m DIGGIN’ IT!

As promised, this is PART DOS of the Whole 30 Kitchen Prep series. Today I’m sharing my favorite refrigerator and freezer staples. A pantry is great, a well stocked pantry…EVEN BETTER. But you can’t put together a real (IMO) Whole 30 meal without your fridge!

Let’s start with the obvious ones first – proteins & vegetables. When we are on Whole 30, almost all of our shopping for proteins and vegetables is done at Costco. They have great organic options & buying in bulk actually saves us money. (HELLO 2 lb of ASPARAGUS FOR $4.99)

Proteins

The deal with protein is that we ALWAYS have meat in our house, so it’s not like we have to go on a big shopping spree before a Whole 30. Our deep freezer was one of the smartest purchases we have made (Yes, Ross – that was your idea…) and it is typically stocked with these items:

  • Salmon
  • Chicken
  • Ground Turkey
  • Eggs
  • Cuts of beef & pork (from a local butcher)

Whenever I am out of these items, I add them to my Costco grocery list. Or if I am at Costco and notice something is on sale I buy it and freeze it. (ex: pork loin was $1.15/lb PLUS $2.50 off last week, so now we have a 9 lb pork loin in the freezer) A good tip for freezing proteins you buy in bulk is to separate them into portions you need for meals. For us that means 2 salmon or chicken breasts per ziplock and approx. 1 lb of any ground meat.

 

Veggies

Equal opportunity vegetable lover here. Vegetables are on my grocery list every week. Some come from Costco and some come from the regular grocery store (i.e. HyVee or Fareway). One other great thing about buy produce from Costco, if you don’t know this already, is that a lot of it is already pre chopped (broccoli, cauliflower & butternut squash) making life so easy.

  • Asparagus (Costco)
  • Peppers (Costco)
  • Broccoli (Costco)
  • Brussels Sprouts (Costco)
  • Cauliflower (Costco)
  • Baby carrots (Costco)
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Onions
  • FROZEN VEGETABLES (great for a quick dinner or to throw in stir frys/soups)

Outside of the list above, I then add whatever specific veggies I need for recipes I am making that week. I know it seems crazy, but we usually go through all of the Costco veggies in a week – but remember, we don’t eat out so that’s 42 meals we are making!

Fruit:

Whole 30 is not big on fruit. It’s allowed – but they talk a lot in the book (It Starts with Food) how the sugars in fruit effect your digestion. I try not to eat more than 1 piece of fruit per day. BUT, somedays my cravings are killer and I choose to have a second piece of fruit so that I can act like a normal human and I am perfectly happy with that decision. So, you do you! Here are the fruits that you can find at our house most days, but especially during Whole 30:

  • Apples – with almond butter is a GREAT snack
  • Bananas – fresh and frozen – fresh with almond butter or as a mid morning pick me up & frozen in smoothies if I need to have one
  • Frozen fruit – I love mangoes
  • Strawberries or blackberries – depending on price
  • Grapes – we freeze them to bring to movies or have for a quick snack

Other items:

These are just some random items I thought I would share that help keep us going on Whole 30. I am not brand loyal to many of the things below – but as a reminder, ALWAYS READ LABELS. Don’t make assumptions, because I have done that and am PISSED when I get home and can’t use it. ANYWAY…

  • MUSTARD…ALL THE MUSTARDS – dijon is my favorite, but we also keep yellow mustard & spicy mustard around for good measure
  • Wholly Guacamole individual packets – LOVE these with carrots or on burrito bowls/taco salads
  • Almond milk – I buy Silk, unsweetened & we use it in recipes, coffee (me), and in smoothies
  • Unsweetened apple sauce – I don’t know where this love started, but if we are eating anything pork I like to have apple sauce on my plate…?
  • Whole 30 dressing – Tessemae’s is changing the game for me with their premade Whole 30 approved products, but if I don’t have those in the fridge I make my own vinaigrette
  • Pickles – read the labels! this one may seem strange, but I love salty things & these babies do the trick
  • ONE LAST THING…FROZEN CAULIFLOWER – this has been a pretty amazing revelation at our house. It is definitely NOT economical (one bag costs $3, the whole costco bag costs $4…) but it is so simple. So we now keep at least 2-3 on hand at all time.

I recognize that the refrigerator items aren’t as specific as the pantry items were, but I hope that by seeing the types of things we buy each week you can get a better idea of what YOU can be stocking in your fridge to help have a successful Whole 30. It can be really easy to feel like you have “nothing to eat” but chances are if you were really hungry – you would grab one of those Wholly Guacamole cups and some carrots! 🙂

Sending Good Chives your Way,

Shauna

 

 

Leave a Reply

