Whole 30 Kitchen Prep – Part 1 of 3

It’s Sunday – the day commonly referred to as “the day of rest.” But if you want to make sure you’re ready for the week – Sunday is also the day for prepping and organization…followed by rest, because I’m not a crazy person!

As I shared a few weeks ago, Ross and I are starting our next Whole 30 on April 10th. We are both looking forward to resetting our eating habits and all of the other great things that come along with eating only WHOLE foods. (Examples: sleeping better, brighter skin, less anxiety/stress, MORE ENERGY…just to name a few!)

I know that a program like the Whole 30 can be daunting when you are doing it for the 1st time. I felt overwhelmed before we started our first one, but I reached out to those who had completed one, used online resources & most importantly I prepared our kitchen beforehand. So now, with 7 days left before we start on our next Whole 30 adventure, I am focusing on what I need to do to, once again, get our kitchen ready! The whole process isn’t complicated, it really boils down to 3 steps:

  1. Remove non-compliant items – I am NOT condoning throwing away or wasting things. I suggest either donating unopened items, bringing things to a friend or family member that would use them OR if they are non perishable items, get a box or container to store those items out of sight until the end of the 30 days.
  2. Inventory compliant items – You may be surprised how many things you already have that are Whole 30 approved. (looking at you, mustard!) The key here is READING LABELS. Do not make assumptions. You (and I) may think that a can of diced tomatoes would be compliant; however, some companies add yeast extract to their processed food making it non-compliant. It may be frustrating to do this part, but it’s better to get a clear picture of what’s currently in your kitchen now rather than when you are starving and trying to make dinner on Day 6.
  3. Purchase compliant pantry staples – Once you have cleared space in your kitchen by moving out the non-compliant items, it’s time to fill it back up with new, delicious, COMPLIANT items! Disclaimer here: it is VERY easy to go crazy with this step and spend A LOT of money. If you have the budget to do that, great! If you don’t, *cough, me, cough*, that’s okay! It just takes a little planning – but we love planning at Good Chives, so I’m here to help.

Part 1 of this 3 part Whole 30 Kitchen Prep is going to focus on PANTRY STAPLES. These are the items that I make sure I have in my house every. single. time. I start a Whole 30. Over time, it has become easier and easier when we are starting a Whole 30 because I buy a lot of these products now regularly.
Good Chives’ Whole 30 Pantry Staples

* I buy a lot of things from Costco – I am certainly not saying that you need to invest in a Costco membership in order to have a successful Whole 30, BUT if you have been contemplating getting one this might be a good time. *

  • Coconut oil – you can buy this stuff just about anywhere and use it for just about anything!
  • Avocado oil – Costco has a GREAT deal on avocado oil, but you can purchase it at both Hy-Vee and Faraway. Works the same as olive oil, but has a lighter taste and can be used to make Whole 30 mayo.
  • Coconut aminos – make sure you don’t buy liquid aminos, that is something different. I have only been able to find this item at Hy-vee, but you can also order from Amazon.
  • Apple cider vinegar – Bragg’s is my favorite brand & is stocked at pretty much all grocery stores.
  • Chicken stock/broth – Labels, labels, labels people. Kirkland brand (Costco) has a great option for chicken stock – but if you shop at a regular grocery store I would look in the health aisles first.
  • Almond Butter – Kirkland brand is my favorite but you can always find at least one clean version at Hy-Vee or Fareway.
  • Lara barsthis link talks about the flavors that are compliant. These bars do not have a ton of protein so they aren’t going to replace any meals, but they are great to have in you desk, purse or gym bag for when you need something quick.
  • Marinara sauce – Victoria’s is THE best (thanks Mom!) I get it at Costco, but Muir Glen is another great brand that you can get at Hy-Vee & Faraway.
  • Diced tomatoes – Kirkland Organic Diced Tomatoes are my jam, but again (and for any tomato products) Muir Glen is great & can be found at most grocery chains (check the health food section.)
  • Almond flour – I buy a big bag from Costco at the beginning of our Whole 30, but you can pretty much buy almond flour at any store & on Amazon! Be aware, there is almond flour and almond meal – two different things. (I usually just go with the finely ground.)
  • Coconut flour – Bulk section at Hy-vee has a great price for coconut flour, but I have also seen it at Fareway (& again…AMAZON.)
  • Mixed nutsMake sure you read the labels! This may seem crazy, but a lot of companies (even my beloved Costco) roasts their mixed nuts in peanut oil, making them non-compliant. So I usually get them from the bulk section at Hy-vee.
  • Salsa – Another reminder to always read the labels. A lot of jarred salsa has sugar added to it, so beware! One of my favorite brands is Mataeo’s (again…Costco) but there are a ton of other clean salsas out there!
  • Cholula – we live and die by Cholula hot sauce in our house. It’s a great way to add some spice and flavor to dishes!
  • Garlic – I really debated sharing this photo with you. Mema, if you are reading this – I’m sorry! But yes, I do buy pre minced garlic. IT’S SO MUCH EASIER!!!!!
  • and I saved the best for last…LA CROIX. La Croix is a staple in our house ALL the time, not just during Whole 30 – they are so good. Favorite flavors: coconut, cherry lime, pineapple strawberry & blackberry cucumber. When I’m not on Whole 30 I also love mixing the berry with red wine…but that’s for another post. 🙂

I hope this list is helpful for you – even if you aren’t starting a Whole 30, but you want to “clean up” your pantry this is a good place to start! If you have questions about any of the items, such as what I use them for, where I buy them, etc… leave a comment. You know I love talking food!

Sending Good Chives your way,

Shauna

One thought on “Whole 30 Kitchen Prep – Part 1 of 3

Leave a Reply

