Easy Peasy Turkey Meatloaf

I need to get something off my chest. I am just gonna lay it all out – and it might not be pretty.

I WENT TO KFC THIS WEEKEND! *insert sad, but sort of enjoyed it, emoji here* Oh my gosh I feel so much better already.

Here’s the deal, and the reason I am sharing this with you, I by NO MEANS have my food act completely together. Do I try very hard to keep my diet in check? Yes, I really do. But do I have the ability to fall victim to the Colonel on days when my head is pounding so hard I think it might explode & my stomach wants nothing but pure grease (a.k.a. a hangover…)? Yes, okay?! I’M HUMAN! I do not want to give any illusions with this blog that healthy eating comes easy to me all the time – it is still a conscious decision I make everyday. I didn’t just wake up one day and hate doritos and red wine & only want to eat chicken and vegetables. (That will never happen.)

BUT here is the thing…the key to my healthy relationship with food has been moving on. Not focusing on the fact that I could have (and probably should have) made a better choice. I didn’t – that’s that. And feeling sad, mad, embarrassed, or guilty about it isn’t going to change that I, Shauna the paleo cooking blogger, ATE A KFC BOWL. However, can I try to catalog those feelings and retrieve them the next time I have had one too many drinks on a girls night out and am feeling a little rough the following day? I sure can! And that’s my point to all of this folks – no one is perfect. We are all trying to balance our lives with health choices. Hopefully we make more healthy choices than not, AND THIS RECIPE CAN BE ONE OF THEM! Great segue, I know…

I have been working on recipe development to try and create some delicious, yet manageable meals for you to make. This “Easy Peasy Turkey Meatloaf” (how do bloggers think of creative names for their recipes?) was a staple in our house for awhile but it had been on hiatus. Ross and I were both glad to bring it back into the rotation!

And incase you didn’t gather it from my KFC confession above, here’s another example of being totally human. Ross and I had JUST got done doing all the dishes… then the meatloaf timer went off. It took less than 3 seconds for us to decide PAPER PLATES. Yep, that happened.

Easy Peasy Turkey Meatloaf

IMG_3303

  • Coconut oil spray (for greasing the pan)
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1/4 of a red pepper – diced
  • 1/4 of a green pepper – diced
  • 1/4 of a white onion – diced
  • 1/4 cup almond flour (finely ground)
  • 1/4 almond milk (unsweetened – original flavor)
  • 1 T Italian seasoning
  • 1 T Hot sauce (Cholula for life)
  • 1 Egg

IMG_3294

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees – grease a loaf pan with coconut oil spray
  2. Dice peppers and onions
  3. Mix all ingredients (including the peppers and onions) in a large bowl – you want to make sure all ingredients are incorporated but don’t OVER mix as it can make the meatloaf tough
  4. Place the meatloaf mixture in the loaf pan and press down to ensure the pan is evenly filled
  5. Bake at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes. Let rest at least 10 minutes before serving. (Note: There may be extra liquid in the loaf pan after baking – this is just from the meat and vegetables, it doesn’t effect the taste!)

Disclaimer: Paleo meatloaf can be more crumbly than traditional meatloaf due to the lack of cheese and breadcrumbs. But not to worry – even if you don’t let it sit like it says to in the recipe & it crumbles while you’re serving, I promise it will still taste delicious!

 

One thought on “Easy Peasy Turkey Meatloaf

Leave a Reply

