Two – “Too Quick” Recipes

Let me lay out a scenario for you…

You are out of town all weekend. You get home Sunday night and feel lucky to have managed to get your laundry done so you have clean clothes for work in the morning. You wake up late on Monday because…Monday. You stop at Starbucks on your way into the office and grab something “healthy”. At work, the “let’s go out to lunch” crew is in full force and you join along – choosing a burger with no bun but still eat all the fries (hypothetically speaking…). By the time you get home ALL you want is a HEALTHY home cooked meal – but the newest episode of *insert your favorite Monday night TV show* is on at 8 PM. WHAT DO YOU COOK?

I know it seems like I would never find myself in this situation. But it happens all too often. Ross and I keep ourselves pretty busy on the weekends and it can be really hard to set aside time on Sunday night to prep food. So, sometimes I find myself in a bind come Monday. Not willing to let the whole week go down the drain, I have started keeping quick recipes in the back of my mind.

I should mention, that usually when I am making these recipes on a Monday night I am also cursing myself for not taking the dang 30 minutes on Sunday to make them because it would have made my life SO MUCH EASIER. So proceed as you wish – but know that no matter WHAT day you make them…they are super simple.

1.) Salmon & Asparagus

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees
  • Place 2 pieces of salmon (or however many you want to make!) in a Ziplock bag with a marinade of your choice – this week I went with Tessemae’s Lemon Garlic dressing – for 20ish minutes
  • Place asparagus on a baking sheet – drizzle with avocado oil (or EVOO) and sprinkle sea salt and black pepper
  • Add the salmon to the pan
  • Roast for 15 minutes (or until the salmon flakes easily)

2.) Broccoli Slaw Stir Fry

  • Slice 1 red pepper, 1 green pepper & 1/2 of a yellow onion
  • Add 2-3 T of avocado oil (or EVOO) to your favorite pan (I went with our stir fry pan)
  • Add the peppers and onions and sauté for 3-4 minutes
  • Add a bag of broccoli slaw, spices (I used a stir fry blend – but a good combo for this would be salt, pepper, ground ginger, garlic powder, and some red pepper flakes)
  • Continue to sauté for another minute or two, then add 2 T of Tamari (gluten free but NOT paleo) or Coconut Aminos (Paleo & Whole 30 – ran out of mine last week 😦 )
  • Add ground beef (or any other ground meat) and heat until warm (the key to making this simple is having already cooked ground beef in the fridge – we are working on having ground meat cooked at all times to throw in recipes)
    • If you DON’T have an cooked meat – just brown up 1 lb of whatever meat you have on hand while you are cooking the other veggies

 

& That’s all she wrote folks! This made dinner for the night & lunch/dinner for the next day. Hope these two – “too quick” recipes help you realize that everything does not need to take hours salving over the stove. Sometimes you have got to K.I.S.S.

One final note – I have officially committed to my next Whole 30! April 10th will be DAY ONE – if you are interested in participating, let me know – I would love to have some friends join me for moral support!

Sending Good Chives your way,

Shauna

P.S. Follow me on Instagram – good.chives

2 thoughts on “Two – “Too Quick” Recipes

  1. Jana Klauke says:

    Just finished meal prep for the week and followed your salmon instructions. I think that it was the first time, maybe in my life, that I cooked the salmon perfectly! Thank you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

