Thyme To Plan – Week 3

Let’s get real transparent for a second. Remember a few weeks back when I said how making time to meal prep is a huge commitment? And that cooking all that food takes A LOT of time? Was not kidding. I quickly got overwhelmed with the planning, cooking and documenting. BUT this is what life is all about – taking a step back to evaluate. So with some new ideas and tricks to make the process easier, I am back in the swing of things!

One key piece of staying sane in the kitchen: KISS. (The ol’ Keep It Simple Stupid) While I was cooking for another family, I wanted to make sure things never got boring and that they didn’t feel like they were eating the same thing all week. What that meant was A LOT of different meals, ingredients, kitchen tools, etc… To be honest, in the end it was SO worth it because Ross and I got to reep the benefits as well. But – it did remind me that every week we do not have to make TEN recipes. So that’s my plan for the next few weeks – picking a few recipe favorites and maybe ONE new recipe & make those work for our meals.

This week’s meal plan, brought to you by my new favorite notebook:

fullsizerender

As you may know, all good plans can be adjusted. I cannot tell you how many times I go to the store for a specific ingredient and POOF the item that I have seen the last 3 times I have gone to the grocery store is GONE. I try to not freak out when this happens (easier said than done sometimes) and think on my feet.

This week was a good example of that – they did not have ANY spaghetti squash at the store. So strange. What I decided to do was just make extra servings of the chili and italian turkey burger soup (both very easy to double). I also was sick of making just frittata’s for breakfast, after doing some digging on Pinterest I was able to find a sweet and savory sweet potato bake to try. Recipe below!

Breakfast Recipes: Sweet Potato Apple Breakfast Bake

Lunch Recipes: Mango & Jalapeno Chicken Meatballs, Butternut Squash Chili

**Another thing I could not find was mango, which really shouldn’t have surprised me that much…in Iowa, in February. I substituted pineapple and used ground turkey instead. I also used this recipe to make a FAB cauliflower mash.

Dinner Recipes: Balsamic Sheet Pan Chicken, Red Coconut Curry with Shrimp, Harvest Sheet Pan Chicken, Italian Turkey Burger Soup

Hope you have a wonderful rest of your Sunday and are able to prep a few things to make your life easier this week! Ross is making us traditional Spainsh Paella tonight for dinner – I’m salivating just thinking about it.

Sending Good Chives your way!

Shauna

Leave a Reply

