Thyme to Plan – Week 2

I want to start off with a couple of disclaimers on this post, so that I can make sure you all don’t think I am a crazy lunatic.

  • I am currently prepping food each week for 4 people. Ross & myself, then my first “customer” (which I still feel weird saying but I mean it’s true!). That means SIXTY servings of food to get us from Monday – Friday: breakfast, lunch and dinner. That’s a lot of food, if you are cooking for yourself or just you and another person – you definitely do not need to make as many recipes as I do each week. (But hey, I’m not the boss of you – you do what you want!)

img_2815

  • Because I am cooking for other people right now, I am trying to make variety one of my weekly priorities. This is ANOTHER reason why I am making so many recipes, rather than doubling ingredients. At the risk of sounding redundant – you definitely do not need to make as many recipes as I do each week.
  • These meals are being made under Whole 30 guidelines – if recipes call for anything that falls out of bounds, I am just making simple swaps (which I will highlight). But if you want to add cheese? Go for it! Think a little bit of rice would bring together a meal? DO IT.
  • I am slowly but surely shortening my prep time – this takes practice and I have not mastered it yet. An average day of cooking all this food takes about 8 hours and then PLEASE do not get me started on dishes. The bane of my existence. But I am going to keep it real and show you the aftermath. This is not to scare you, it’s just to tell you that I do not have some kind of magical process that takes no time and alleviates dishes. (Although I would pay a lot of money for that.)img_2808
(In other completely unrelated news, we are getting new windows! It will be a few months until they can install them, but don’t you worry – lots of before & afters will be posted.) (P.S. That small brown and white thing outside is GRADY!)

Okay, I think that’s about it for now. Let’s get into the GOOD STUFF.

MENU

Breakfast: Egg bake & veggie egg scramble with roasted potatoes

*These are recipes I make just using whatever veggies I have leftover from lunches and dinners. But here are similar recipes that outline the process. (Omit cheese from the egg scramble recipe)

Lunch: Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Sweet P’s with Coleslaw, White Chicken Chili, Egg Roll in a Bowl

*Buffalo chicken – use boiling chicken breast method above, shred chicken and add frank’s hot sauce

*Whole 30 mayo recipe

*Egg roll in a bowl – used ground turkey

Dinner: Balsamic Beef, Shepherd’s Pie, Chicken Pineapple Fried “Rice”, Salmon with roasted veggies

GROCERY LIST

  • Salmon
  • Ground Turkey
  • Chicken
  • Arm Roast
  • Bacon (sugar free)
  • Cauliflower
  • Broccoli
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Red potatoes
  • Peppers
  • Onions
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Butternut Squash
  • Coleslaw mix
  • Jalapeno
  • Carrots (whole or pre-shredded)
  • Pineapple
  • Raisins (sugar free)
  • Cashews
  • Green chiles
  • Coconut milk (can)
  • Frank’s hot sauce

PANTRY STAPLES NEEDED

  • Coconut aminos
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Olive oil
  • Avocado oil
  • Sesame oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic
  • Cumin
  • Oregano
  • Chili powder
  • Dried rosemary
  • Dry mustard
  • Celery seed
  • Garlic powder

Just an FYI – I will be doing a post soon on what I keep in my pantry, so be on the lookout for that. Until then…

Sending GOOD CHIVES your way,

Shauna

Leave a Reply

