Whole What?

Happy hump day!

Before we get too invested in our relationship – I wanted to shed some light on something near and dear to my heart & something that I will most likely talk about, A LOT. And that is The Whole 30 (this website is CHOCK FULL of information, support, forums and recipes – check it out)

To put it simply, the Whole 30 is a 30 day plan that has the ability to change your health and your life. 

You DO eat: meats, vegetables, fruits, nuts & healthy fats.

You DON’T eat: sugar (this includes alcohol – GASP!), grains, dairy, legumes.

Back in the summer of 2013 I was at a point in my life where something needed to change in regards to my health. I had started making better decisions post college graduation in 2012 (like not eating pizza at 2 AM 3 nights a week…) and saw some difference in weight and overall well being; however, I still just felt like I was missing the mark somewhere. I had also just moved out to Portland, OR to live with Ross & we were both excited about embarking on a healthier lifestyle. Enter in WHOLE 30. We started our 1st official Whole 30 in August 2013 – and to say it changed our lives would be the understatement of the century. Did we lose weight? Yes – of course. Cutting out ALCOHOL ALONE we would have been able to drop some serious lbs. But that wasn’t why we fell so in love with the program – we LOVED the way it made us feel when we were putting foods into our body that actually helped it run PROPERLY. And, this is the real kicker, we never ONCE felt like we were depriving ourselves.

Since that fateful summer (I’m getting dramatic) I have completed 7 Whole 30’s & Ross has been my side for the majority of them. The reason I keep “coming back for more” is because it allows me to reset my digestive system when I may have gone too far off track. I feel grateful that I don’t have to constantly stress anymore about what I eat – do I enjoy cookies sometimes? Duh. Do I indulge in too many adult beverages during Hawkeye tailgates? Most definitely. Do I continue to list chips & dip as my favorite food? Your GD right I do! But what is different is that my mindset on these foods has changed. I see them for what they are now, a treat and something that I will most likely ALWAYS want to enjoy. But my life doesn’t revolve around them. (Ok – except Doritos, I really love them and I am still working on that.)

The point(s) I am trying to get to:

  • If you haven’t heard of the Whole 30, do some research, read the book It Starts with Food and see if it is something that you want to give a go. I’d love to be able to help support your efforts.
  • If you have heard of the Whole 30 and are by no means interested in trying it – no sweat off my back! But if you have questions, ask away because I am always happy to chat about food.
  • If you have heard of the Whole 30 AND you have completed one – tell me what you thought! Everyone is different and I have no illusions that EVERYONE who has ever done the Whole 30 is just as bought in as I am.

I plan to do another Whole 30 in the next few months, so stay tuned for recipes and meal plans that support it. But please know that I will not/would not push my agenda on anyone else – health & diet is a very personal thing and I strongly believe we ALL have to find what works for US.

 

Sending Good Chives your way,

Shauna

 

Leave a Reply

